Listen Live

Watch Robby Krieger and Dennis Quaid play “Don’t Be Cruel” in clip from new episode AXS TV’s ‘Mixtape’

Music News

Courtesy of AXS TV & Joy FactoryDoors guitarist Robby Krieger and actor/musician Dennis Quaid are featured on the latest episode of the AXS TV series Mixtape, airing tonight at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

Krieger and Quaid are friends, and Dennis sometimes plays Doors songs in concert with his backing group, The Sharks, and on occasion has even hit the stage with Robby.

On the show, the two stars discuss their all-time favorite songs, one of which is the Elvis Presley classic “Don’t Be Cruel.”

In a preview clip from the episode, Krieger explains, “‘Don’t Be Cruel’ was like the first Elvis song that got to me. You know, it was rock ‘n’ roll, but it was nice too. It was like a love song.”

Quaid then interjects, “Yeah, but it bounced. It made me bounce.”

As the clip winds down, Robby and Dennis play a rendition of the tune acoustically.

In conjunction with the show, Krieger created his own playlist featuring the tunes that shaped his life and impacted his career.  It includes plenty of Doors songs, as well as tunes by Bob Dylan, Eric Burdon and War, Them, Joni Mitchell, The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, John Coltrane, Pearl Jam and Greta Van Fleet.

His mixtape also features a song by Dennis Quaid & the Sharks, Jose Feliciano‘s memorable cover of The Doors’ “Light My Fire” and — surprise!– Elvis’ “Don’t Be Cruel.”

Here is Krieger’s full mixtape:

“Ramblin’ Blues” — Ray Koerner & Glover
“The House of the Rising Sun” — Woody Guthrie
“Granadinas” — Jaime Grifo and Nino Marvino
“Spanish Caravan” — The Doors
“Back Door Man” — John Hammond
“Back Door Man” — The Doors
“Subterranean Homesick Blues” — Bob Dylan
“Mr. Tambourine Man” — Bob Dylan
“Spill the Wine” — Eric Burdon and War
“Gloria” — Them
“End of the Night” — The Doors
“People Are Strange” — The Doors
“The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahogany: Alabama-Song” — Kurt Weill, Lotte Lenya and Roger Bean
“Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)” — The Doors
“Chelsea Morning” — Joni Mitchell
“Shake Your Money-Maker” — The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
“Break on Through (To the Other Side)” — The Doors
“Wouldn’t It Be Mice” — The Beach Boys
“Play with Fire” — The Rolling Stones
“Light My Fire” — The Doors
“You’re Lost Little Girl” — The Doors
“Yes, the River Knows” — The Doors
“Love Her Madly” — The Doors
“Touch Me” — The Doors
“Peace Frog” — The Doors
“The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)” — The Doors
“Take It as It Comes” — The Doors
“Birdland” — Weather Report
“My Favorite Things” — John Coltrane
“Highway Tune” — Greta Van Fleet
“Even Flow” — Pearl Jam
“What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)” — Alton Ellis
“Love Me Two Times” — The Doors
“Roadhouse Blues” — The Doors
“Strange 2013” — Tech N9ne and The Doors
“Breakn’ a Sweat” — Skrillex, Ray Manzarek and Robby Krieger
“On My Way to Heaven” — Dennis Quaid & the Sharks
“Riders on the Storm” — The Doors
“Light My Fire” — Jose Feliciano
“Light My Fire” — Minnie Riperton and Jose Feliciano
“Don’t Be Cruel” — Elvis Presley

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top