Listen Live

Absentee Ballots Are In: See the New Cortland County Legislators

Local News

After several tight elections came down to absentee voting, the unofficial results are in filling the remaining vacancies on the 2020 Cortland County Legislature.

In the city of Cortland’s District 5, Democrat Susan Wilson appears to have edged Republican Laurie Comfort by a mere three votes (171-168). Incumbent Chad Poli ran on a third party line and was out of consideration before the absentee counting.

The town of Cortlandville’s District 12 seat appears to have been flipped, with Republican challenger Joe Nauseef defeating Democratic incumbent Michael Barylski by a 364-328 tally.

The net-neutral result preserves the overall 9-8 Republican majority on the legislature.

Additionally, Legislator Kathy Bischoff was re-elected to her LD-3 seat in the city of Cortland (filled in for Thomas Hartnett, who passed away in February)

Democrat Richard Stock also won back his LD-6 seat in the city of Cortland (filled in for Mary Ann Discenza, who retired in January)

Republican Gene Waldbauer was confirmed as Kevin Whitney’s replacement in South Cortland’s District 13.

In L.D. 17 (Cincinnatus/Freetown), Republican Mitchel Eccleston has defeated incumbent Joan Coombs, also Republican.

These results are still unofficial, but winners have been certified for publication by the County Board of Elections.

Related Articles Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top