Listen Live

UK new-wave vets Modern English reissuing first two studio albums in December

Music News

Blixa SoundsThe first two studio albums by British new-wave veterans Modern English, 1981’s Mesh & Lace and 1983’s After the Snow, will be reissued on vinyl and CD on Friday, December 6.

The vinyl versions of the reissues will feature the respective albums’ original track lists, while the CDs will include a number of bonus tracks.

Mesh & Lace introduced the world to Modern English as a moody, dark post-punk act. After the Snow found the group adding more accessible and upbeat elements to its sound, best exemplified by the enduring pop/new wave classic “I Melt with You.”

After the Snow, which peaked at #70 on the Billboard 200, eventually was certified gold after selling over 500,000 copies in the U.S. The CD reissue includes a seven-inch mix of “I Melt with You,” alternate mixes of a couple other album tracks, plus two non-album cuts — “The Prize” and “The Choicest View.”

Both reissues include reimagined cover art by Vaughan Oliver, who helped design Modern English’s original albums.

Here’s the Mesh & Lace track list:

“Gathering Dust”+
“16 Days”
“Just a Thought”
“Move in Light”
“The Token Man”
“A Viable Commercial”
“Black Houses”
“Dance of Devotion (A Love Song)”

Bonus Tracks
“Smiles and Laughter”+
“Mesh and Lace”+
“Swans on Glass”+

And here’s the After the Snow track list:

“Someone’s Calling”
“Life in the Gladhouse”
“Face of Wood”
“Dawn Chorus”
“I Melt with You”
“After the Snow”
“Carry Me Down”
“Tables Turning”

Bonus Tracks
“Someone’s Calling” (Remix)+
“Life in the Gladhouse” (Remix)+
“I Melt With You” (7″ Mix)+
“The Prize”+
“Life in the Gladhouse” (12″ Mix)+
“The Choicest View”+

+ = not included on the vinyl version.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top