Local News

Tompkins County Department of Emergency Response Recognize EMS Providers


The Tompkins County Department of Emergency Response has recognized multiple county EMS providers, an agency, and a 9-1-1 dispatcher after honors they have all received this week.

The Central New York Emergency Medical Services (CNYEMS) regional council held their annual awards in Syracuse on Tuesday. CNYEMS is made up of five counties: Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, Oswego, and Tompkins. The council receives numerous applications in several categories with winners of each award forwarded to the State-level awards.

Image Courtesy of Tompkins County

The recipients for this year’s CNYEMS awards in the categories are:

  • ALS Provider of the Year – Emily Dove, Ithaca Fire Department and Trumansburg EMS
  • BLS Provider of the Year – Matt Whitaker, Groton Fire Department
  • Educator of the Year – Taci Lisi, Bangs Ambulance and Lansing Fire Department
  • Dr. Michael Jastremski Award of Excellence – Brian Snyder, Trumansburg EMS
  • Agency of the Year – Trumansburg EMS

“Each of these winners was acknowledged for their dedication and contributions to the pre-hospital setting,” said Joe Milliman, EMS Program Manager for Tompkins County Emergency Response. “I am incredibly proud of each and everyone and honored to call them colleagues. Thank you for a job well done representing Tompkins County!”

In addition to the award recipients mentioned above, Tompkins County Emergency Dispatcher, Travis Collins, has been selected for the 2023 APCO Atlantic Chapter Dispatcher of the Year. His nomination is due to his number of CPR saves. He currently serves as an EMT with Dryden Ambulance.

On Air Now

  • Regular Programming

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App


Site Designed & Hosted by Eves Digital