Listen Live

This year’s Grammy Salute to Music Legends, honoring Dionne Warwick, Sam & Dave and more, airs tonight on PBS

Music News

Amy Sussman/Getty Images © 2019This year’s edition of the annual Grammy Salute to Music Legends special, celebrating the Recording Academy’s 2019 Special Merit Awards winners, airs tonight at 9 p.m. as the latest episode of the network’s Great Performances series. Among the honorees: Dionne Warwick, Sam & Dave and Donny Hathaway.

Taped back in May at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, the gala featured performances by and/or tributes to the 2019 recipients of the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other artists who received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Recording Academy include George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic, heavy metal legends Black Sabbath, Spanish crooner Julio Iglesias and late jazz singer and bandleader Billy Eckstine.

The event also featured the presentation of Trustees Awards to non-performers who have made their mark on the music industry.  This year’s honorees were the Motown songwriting team of Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson; music producer Lou Adler, best known for his work with The Mamas & the Papas, Carole King and comedy duo Cheech & Chong; and TV and film soundtrack composer Johnny Mandel.

Among the award recipients who take part in the performances were Warwick, Sam Moore of Sam & Dave, Clinton and Simpson.

The show, hosted by Sheila E., also features such guests as country superstar Garth Brooks, Johnny Mathis, legendary funk bassist Bootsy Collins, rapper Snoop Dogg, R&B star Kenny Lattimore and Cheech & Chong, performing either with, or in tribute to, the honorees.

Here is a list of the tribute performances you’ll see on the Grammy Salute to Music Legends:

Dionne Warwick
“Walk On By” (performed by Johnny Mathis)
“What the World Needs Now” (performed by Dionne Warwick)

Sam & Dave
Medley: “Hold On, I’m Comin'”/”Soul Man” (performed by Sam Moore and Garth Brooks)
“I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down” (performed by Sam Moore)

Lou Adler
“I Feel the Earth Move”/”It’s Too Late” (performed by Jessie Mueller)

Julio Iglesias
“Caruso” (performed by Julio Iglesias)

Nickolas Ashford & Valerie Simpson
“You’re All I Need to Get By”/”Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” (performed by Valerie Simpson and Kenny Lattimore)

Johnny Mandel
“How Do You Keep the Music Playing?” (performed by Patti Austin)
“The Shadow of Your Smile”/”Suicide Is Painless” (performed by Patti Austin)

Black Sabbath
“War Pigs”/”Paranoid” (performed by Rival Sons)

Donny Hathaway
“A Song for You” (performed by Lalah Hathaway)
“Where Is the Love” (performed by Lalah and Kenya Hathaway)

Billy Eckstine
“Everything I Have Is Yours” (performed by Gregory Porter)
“Dedicated to You” (performed by Gregory Porter and Patti Austin)

George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic
Medley: “One Nation Under a Groove”/”Mothership Connection”/”Flash Light” (performed by George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Sativa, Eddie M, Sheila E. and Snoop Dogg)

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top

Pin It on Pinterest