The Year in Music: Rock Hall Induction Ceremony sees Stevie Nicks become first two-time female inductee, partial Roxy Music reunion

Music News

Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images for The Rock and Roll Hall of FameThe 2019 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony took place March 29 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York, and this year’s honorees were Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard, The Zombies, The Cure, Roxy Music, Radiohead and Janet Jackson.

Nicks became the first woman ever to be inducted twice into the Rock Hall, after previously entering in 1998 as a member of Fleetwood Mac. She was welcomed by One Direction‘s Harry Styles, who also joined her to sing a version of her classic Tom Petty duet “Stop Dragging My Heart Around.” In addition, Nicks brought out surprise guest Don Henley for a rendition of their hit duet “Leather and Lace.”

Def Leppard was inducted by Queen guitarist Brian May, and the band played “Hysteria,” “Rock of Ages,” “Photograph” and “Pour Some Sugar on Me.”

The Zombies were inducted by The BanglesSusanna Hoffs, and the British Invasion band’s four surviving members, augmented by members of the group’s current lineup, played “Time of the Season,” “She’s Not There” and more.

Roxy Music was inducted by Duran Duran‘s Simon LeBon and John Taylor. Original keyboardist Brian Eno and drummer Paul Thompson didn’t show up for the event, but the three founding members who were on hand — frontman Bryan Ferry, sax player Andy Mackay and guitarist Phil Manzanera — reunited to perform several tunes with guest musicians, including “Love Is the Drug” and “More Than This.”

The Cure was introduced by Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor, and the band performed “Lovesong,” “Just Like Heaven,” “Boys Don’t Cry” and more.

Radiohead was welcomed by ex-Talking Heads singer David Byrne. There was no performance since only two band members, Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway, showed up.

For the ceremony’s finale, Def Leppard welcomed Ian Hunter to the stage. The Mott the Hoople frontman led an all-star version of his band’s classic David Bowie-penned hit “All the Young Dudes.”

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

© 2021. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top

Pin It on Pinterest