Listen Live

The O’Jays, Hooters, Evelyn “Champagne” King to be inducted into Philadelphia Music Walk of Fame

Music News

Credit: Denise TruscelloThe 2019 inductees into the Philadelphia Music Walk of Fame have been announced, and they include soul legends The O’Jays, eclectic pop-rock group The Hooters and disco star Evelyn “Champagne” King.

The induction ceremony will take place during the afternoon of October 22 along Philly’s Avenue of the Arts, and the honorees will be celebrated that same evening at a special gala event at The Bellevue Philadelphia. Tickets for the gala are on sale now via

This year’s other honorees include The Philadelphia Orchestra, music industry executive Jody Gerson, late philanthropist Dorrance “Dodo” Hamilton and radio personality Pierre Robert.

Interestingly, two members of The Hooters, Eric Bazilian and Rob Hyman, were previously inducted into the Philly Walk of Fame, thanks to their work as songwriters.

“This year’s honorees class is filled with legends from especially diverse backgrounds, allowing us to once again display the variety of this city’s phenomenal music genres — from classical to rock to Philly soul,” says Alan Rubens, chairman of the Philadelphia Music Alliance.

The PMA created the Walk of Fame to honor local music stars and promote the city’s contributions to the arts and culture.

Other previous Walk of Fame inductees include Daryl Hall, John Oates, The Stylistics, Patti LaBelle, Tammi Terrell, Teddy Pendergrass, Sister Sledge, Bill Haley, Jim Croce, Todd Rundgren, Chubby Checker, Dick Clark, Kenny Gamble, Leon Huff, Joan Jett, Billy Paul, The Delfonics and The Trammps.

For more information, visit

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top

Pin It on Pinterest