Listen Live

The Allman Brothers Band Releasing Four-Disc Collection Of 2003 Shows

Music News

Coming on May 16th is the a new Allman Brothers Band live package, titled Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003, The set is a collection of the best performances culled from six shows in July and August 2003, and includes 36 tracks recorded between July 25th and August 10th, 2003 in Indianapolis, Indiana; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Darien Center, New York, Hartford, Connecticut; and Charlotte and Raleigh, North Carolina — with no song repeated. The live set features the longest running lineup of the Allmans — including co-founders Gregg Allman, Jaimoe, and Butch Trucks — along with Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, Oteil Burbridge, and Marc Quinones. Guest musicians on four Cream Of The Crop 2003 songs include Susan Tedeschi, Karl Denson, and Branford Marsalis.

Warren Haynes supervised the compilation of the Cream Of The Crop set, which was culled from the “Instant Live” CD series that fans could purchase at the concerts immediately after the shows as they were being burned to CD. Haynes said of that era of the Allmans: “That was an important time in the growth of that incarnation of the ABB. We had just released Hittin’ The Note and everybody was psyched to be playing a lot of new material from an album we all were very proud of and there was new life being breathed into a lot of the older songs.”

Around the time of the 2003 dates, we caught up with Gregg Allman and he explained that the band was particularly hot at that point: “We have some new stuff. The shows have been wonderful. Man, I’ve never been so glad to get out there and play. I swear, I felt like I was 20-years-old. There’s two or three new things, and we’ve embellished on a couple of tunes that have gone into these pretty wild jams.”
The tracklisting to The Allman Brothers Band’s Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003 is:

Disc One

“Don’t Want You No More”
“It’s Not My Cross To Bear”
“Black Hearted Woman”
“Rocking Horse”
“Hot ‘Lanta”
“Old Before My Time”
“Come And Go Blues”
“Woman Across The River”
“The High Cost Of Low Living”
“Hoochie Coochie Man”

Disc Two

“Trouble No More”
“Midnight Rider”
“You Don’t Love Me”
“Who To Believe”
“Stormy Monday”
“Good Morning Little Schoolgirl”
“In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed”

Disc Three

“Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More”
“Worried Down With The Blues”
“Statesboro Blues”
“Stand Back”
“Mountain Jam”

Disc Four

“Don’t Keep Me Wonderin'”
“Done Somebody Wrong”
“Gambler’s Roll”
“Who’s Been Talking”
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright”
“Wasted Words”
“Whipping Post”
“One Way Out”

Photo Courtesy of

Related Articles Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top