State Police are running their annual Super Bowl weekend crackdown on impaired and reckless driving, which includes increased patrols and sobriety checkpoints across New York from today through Monday (February 1-3).
Additionally, they’ll ramp up underage drinking enforcement efforts.
Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles, which allow them to blend in with traffic but are unmistakable as police once emergency lighting is activated.
During the 2019 Super Bowl campaign, State Police arrested 139 people for impaired driving and issued a total of 7,891 tickets.
Impaired driving convictions can result in a maximum fine of $10,000, up to 7 years in prison and license revocation.
Motorists are also reminded to abide by the state’s “move over” law for stopped emergency and hazard vehicles on the side of the road.
More from New York State Police
If you are hosting, you’re the team captain! Designate a responsible driver now to help your guests get home safely:
- Ask all of your guests to designate their sober drivers in advance, or help them arrange ridesharing with sober drivers. If you don’t drink, offer to drive guests home.
- Serve plenty of food and non-alcoholic beverages at the party.
- Stop serving alcohol at the end of the third quarter—this is a good time to serve coffee and dessert.
- Sign up online for a ridesharing service or keep the phone numbers of local cab companies on hand and take the keys away from any guests who are thinking of driving after drinking.
- The Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee and the New York State STOP-DWI Foundation “Have a Plan” mobile app, is available for Apple, Droid and Windows smartphones. The app enables New Yorkers to locate and call a taxi service and program a designated driver list. It also provides information on DWI laws and penalties, and a way to even report a suspected impaired driver.
- Remember, if you serve a guest alcohol and he or she gets in a crash that night, you could be held liable.
- If an underage person drinks and drives, the parent or guardian can be legally liable for any damage, injury or death caused by the underage driver.