See Who’s Running In Cortland County’s June 25 Primary Elections

Local News

Today’s (May 31) the deadline to register for, or make changes to, a political party for eligibility in the primary elections on June 25. It’s also the final day to request an absentee ballot. You’ll need to do both before 5 p.m.

Local News Updates Are Brought To You By:

News Powered by

Locally, there are six races that will ultimately produce candidates for the general election in November.

Cortland County Republicans will hold two elections to nominate candidates for Legislator representing Districts 5 and 17:

District 5:

Chad A. Poli (incumbent)


Kathryn A. Wilcox


Laurie J. Comfort

District 17:

Joan I. Coombs (incumbent)


Mitchel D. Eccleston

City of Cortland Democrats will do the same to nominate a 3rd and 6th Ward Alderperson to the Common Council:

Ward 3:

Gary L. Thomas (incumbent)


Bruce R. Tytler

Ward 6:

Carlos J. Ferrer (incumbent)


William D. Carpenter (currently 5th Ward Alderman, but recently moved)

***Jacqueline Chapman has filed her petition to fill the 5th Ward vacancy come November.

Both the Republican and Independence Parties will be putting up the same candidates for Cortlandville Town Court Justice:

Robert J. DeMarco


Mary Beth Mathey

If you’re unsure whether or not you’re already registered to a party, the quickest and easiest way is TO CLICK THIS LINK  and fill out the quick entry form.

Further questions can be directed to the Cortland County Board of Elections, 112 River Street, Suite 1 in Cortland or at 607-753-5032.

Related Articles

© 2021. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top

Pin It on Pinterest