The back to school season is in full swing and classes are to begin on Tuesday, September 6th throughout New York State. Some of the big things to keep an eye out for while driving are school buses making their rounds picking up and dropping off students to/from school.
The New York State Department of Transportation is reminding motorists that when a school bus is stopped with its lights flashing, all motorists must also stop. The NYSDOT continues by saying it doesn’t matter what lane you’re in or what direction you are heading, all vehicles must stop.
Most school bus-related deaths and injuries occur while children cross the street after being discharged from the bus, not in collisions that involve school buses.
Motorists who disobey stopping for a school bus with their red flashing lights on can face a fine up to $250 for a first time offense to up to $1,000 for three offenses in three years.
It is noted, if you are convicted of three offenses within three years, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months.