Listen Live

Mitch Ryder releases new album, “Detroit Breakout!,” packed with classic covers and guest stars

Music News

Cleopatra RecordsDetroit rock and soul legend Mitch Ryder has just released a new album featuring covers of rock, pop, soul and folk songs that he recorded with a variety of guest artists.

Detroit Breakout! includes contributions from Runaways singer Cherie Currie, as well as legendary rock guitarists like The MC5‘s Wayne Kramer, The StoogesJames Williamson and The New York DollsSylvain Sylvain.

The album kicks off with a new rendition of Ryder’s classic 1966 hit with his band The Detroit Wheels, “Devil with a Blue Dress,” featuring Williamson on guitar. A video for the track premiered on and you also can watch it on YouTube.

The clip is set in a seedy bar and focuses on an alluring tattooed woman who saunters through the male-filled crowd and proceeds to strip down to a blue bikini, causing the guys begin a brutal brawl with each other.

Detroit Breakout! also boasts versions of The Capitols‘ “Cool Jerk” featuring Kramer, The Standells‘ “Dirty Water” featuring Sylvain, and Roy Orbison‘s “Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)” with Currie.

Other covers Ryder tackles on the album: The Monkees‘ “(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone,” The Temptations‘ “Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me),” Jim Croce‘s “Bad, Bad Leroy Brown,” Otis Redding‘s “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” and Sam Cooke‘s “You Send Me” and “Twistin’ the Night Away.”

Detroit Breakout! is available now on CD, digitally and as a limited-edition two-LP set pressed on red vinyl.

Here’s the album’s full track list:

“Devil with a Blue Dress” — featuring James Williamson
“Cool Jerk” — featuring Wayne Kramer & Brian Auger
“Dirty Water” — featuring Sylvain Sylvain
“Turn Back the Hands of Time” — featuring Shirley King
“Have Love, Will Travel” — featuring Paul Rudolph
“(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone” — featuring Walter Lure
“Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)” — featuring Cherie Currie
“(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” — featuring Arthur Adams
“Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)” — featuring Lee Oskar
“Bad, Bad Leroy Brown” — featuring Joe Louis Walker
“You Send Me” — featuring Linda Gail Lewis
“Twistin’ the Night Away” — featuring Joe Louis Walker
“If I Had a Hammer” — featuring Linda Gail Lewis
“Shout” — featuring Linda Gail Lewis

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top