Listen Live

James Taylor, Barbara Streisand, & Gloria Estefan Receiving Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Music News

James Taylor, Barbra Streisand, Itzhak Perlman, Steven Spielberg, and Gloria and Emilio Estefan, will be among those awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Obama on November 24th at the White House. The Hollywood Reporter posted the President’s announcement, stating: “I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor. From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

Last June, James Taylor released his latest album — and first career chart-topper — Before This World. Taylor explained that he’s not the type of writer who can just bang out an album over a couple of week’s worth of writing sessions: “They sort of come through me, and I, and I wait for them to show up. I can do things that help them show up — usually sitting down playing the guitar, so, my guitar technique is central to it. I’m not. . . I don’t read music, I don’t write it, so I, sit down and basically wander around on the guitar until something starts to present itself.”

May 5 – New York, NY – Carnegie Hall
June 30 – Chicago, IL – Wrigley Field
August 3 – Boston, MA – Fenway Park

Related Articles Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top