Listen Live

Hits by Elton John, Neil Diamond, The Police, Eurythmics inducted into Grammy Hall of Fame

Music News

Courtesy of the Recording AcademyElton John is definitely having a good 2020.  On Monday he was nominated for an Oscar, and now one of his classic hits has been announced as an inductee into the 2020 Grammy Hall of Fame.

“Tiny Dancer” is one of many classic songs and albums that have been given the honor by the Recording Academy.  To qualify, the recordings must be at least 25 years old and “exhibit qualitative or historical significance.”  The Grammy Hall of Fame now comprises 1,114 recordings, counting the 26 that are being inducted this year.

In addition to “Tiny Dancer,” this year’s inductees also include Neil Diamond‘s “Sweet Caroline,” Eurythmics‘ “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This),” “Every Breath You Take” by The Police, and Peter Frampton‘s landmark 1976 album Frampton Comes Alive!

Other notable inductees this year are Joni Mitchell‘s Clouds album, The Allman Brothers Band’s classic Eat a Peach album, surf-rock classic “Wipe Out” by The Surfaris, Nancy Sinatra‘s “These Boots Are Made for Walkin’,” Patsy Cline‘s “Walkin’ After Midnight,” Public Enemy‘s landmark hip-hop album It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back and Devo‘s 1978 debut album, Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!

“We are so honored to welcome these timeless masterpieces to our growing catalog of iconic recordings that serve as a beacon of music excellence and diverse expression that will forever impact and inspire generations of creators,” says Deborah Dugan, the Recording Academy’s president and CEO.

This year’s inductees will be mentioned during the Grammy Awards, which airs January 26 on CBS.

Here’s a full list of 2020 Grammy Hall of Fame inductees:

“Carolina Shout” (single) — James P. Johnson (1921)

“How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live” (single) — Blind Alfred Reed (1930)

“Devil Got My Woman” (single) — Skip James (1931)

Capitol Presents The King Cole Trio (album) — The King Cole Trio (1944)

Zodiac Suite (album) — Mary Lou Williams (1945)

“I’ll Fly Away” (single) — The Chuck Wagon Gang (1949)

“Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite” (track) — Machito (1950)

“I’m a Man of Constant Sorrow” (single) — The Stanley Brothers & The Clinch Mountain Boys (1951)

“I’m a Man” (single) — Bo Diddley (1955)

“Walkin’ After Midnight” (single) — Patsy Cline (1957)

“Oh Mary Don’t You Weep” (single) — Swan Silvertones (1959)

“Miserlou” (single) — Dick Dale and The Del-Tones (1962)

“Wipe Out” (single) — The Surfaris (1963)

“These Boots Are Made for Walkin'” (single) — Nancy Sinatra (1965)

Taj Mahal (album) — Taj Mahal (1968)

Clouds (album) — Joni Mitchell (1969)

“Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good)” (single) — Neil Diamond (1969)

Piano Rags by Scott Joplin (album) — Joshua Rifkin (1970)

Eat a Peach (album) — The Allman Brothers Band (1972)

“Tiny Dancer” (single) — Elton John (1972)

Frampton Comes Alive! (album) — Peter Frampton (1976)

Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! (album) — Devo (1978)

“Pancho and Lefty” (single) — Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard (1982)

“Every Breathe You Take” (single) — The Police (1983)

“Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” (single) — Eurythmics (1983)

It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back (album) — Public Enemy (1988)

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top