Listen Live

Guthrie Cortland Medical Center Honors Two Physicians At Annual Recognition Event

Local News

Guthrie Cortland Medical Center will hold its annual physician recognition event tonight (April 25) at Greek Peak Mountain Resort.

The physician recognition awards are presented each year to members of the medical staff who demonstrate excellence in patient care, have given significant service to both the hospital and the community, and who have also continued their academic efforts.

This year’s event will recognize Physician of the Year, Kirwin Gibbs, M.D. and Advanced Practice Professional of the Year, Melony Shaffer, PA.

From Guthrie Cortland Medical Center:

Dr. Kirwin Gibbs (pictured left), a member of the St. Lawrence Radiology Group, joined the hospital’s medical staff in October 2002, providing interventional radiology services to inpatient and outpatients. He became medical staff president in January 2017. Surprised and honored to receive this award, Dr. Gibbs said, “Given the high caliber of physicians here at Guthrie Cortland Medical Center, I consider it to be a huge honor to be selected Physician of the year. It’s a privilege to serve the people of Cortland and the surrounding counties. Without the support of our imaging department staff, I would not be here.”

For more than 47 years, Advanced Practitioners have played an invaluable role on the medical teams at Guthrie Cortland Medical Center. Cortland native Melony Shaffer (pictured right), joined the hospital’s medical staff in 2003 and joined the Regional Medical Practice orthopaedics team in 2013. Melony served in the United States Army Reserves for nine years as captain, performing duties as Physician Assistant. She was deployed overseas for one year during Operation Enduring Freedom.

Practicing in Cortland for over 15 years, Shaffer’s commitment to the community and the hospital runs deep. Says Shaffer, “I grew up in this community so it’s important to me that I take care of my patients in a way that supports our community and promotes our hospital in a positive light. I am also very honored that my coworkers nominated me for this recognition.”

Throughout the evening, Jeffrey Breed, chair of the Cortland Memorial Foundation Board of Directors, will recognize the following providers for their years of service to the local community:

* 35 years: Dr. Ho Woon Lee

* 30 years: Dr. James Leonard

* 15 years: Dr. David Wirtz and Dr. Pawan Rao

* 10 years: Dr. Jorge Davidenko; Donna Gardner, NP and Lisa Snyder, NP

* 5 years: Dr. Deepika Singh; Dr. Christopher Smith; Dr. Joseph Flanagan



Related Articles Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top