Local News

Gillibrand Announces National Heritage Area Legislation for Finger Lakes


Senator Kirsten Gillibrand has announced new legislation that would designate the Finger Lakes region as a National Heritage Area.

Dubbed the Finger Lakes Heritage Act, National Heritage Areas are established by Congress to recognize a region’s natural, cultural, or historical significance. The process for designating a region as a National Heritage Area usually involves two steps. First, Congress passes a bill directing the National Park Service to conduct a feasibility study to determine if the area is suitable. If the feasibility results are positive, Congress must pass a second bill to formally designate the region.

With the Finger Lakes confirmed as National Heritage eligible earlier this year, Gillibrand’s legislation would complete the second step in the process.

On Air Now

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App

Site Designed & Hosted by Eves Digital