Listen Live

Dionne Warwick releasing new Christmas album this week featuring Michael McDonald, Johnny Mathis & more

Music News

BMGMusic legend Dionne Warwick has rounded up an interesting assortment of artists from various genres to join her on a new holiday album titled Dionne Warwick & The Voices of Christmas, which comes out this Friday.

According to Billboard, the album includes duets with Michael McDonald, Johnny Mathis, ex-Chicago singer Jason Scheff and veteran jazz artist Dianne Reeves, and features renditions of yuletide classics like “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” “Jingle Bell Rock,” “The Christmas Song” and “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.”

Among the other artists featured on the record are R&B singers Aloe Blacc and Andra Day, Chloe x Halle, Wanya Morris of Boyz II Men, and country stars The Oak Ridge Boys, John Rich, Rickey Scaggs and Eric Paslay.

“Every song, I felt, suited my duet partner. That’s why it’s called The Voices of Christmas,” Warwick tells Billboard. “Each of the songs felt suited to each one of the people I was singing with and that’s how we chose them.”

Billboard debuted Dionne’s duet with Aloe Blacc Wednesday, a version of Donny Hathaway‘s classic “This Christmas.” The 78-year-old icon tells the magazine, “He’s such an incredible musical person and boy did he give a wonderful performance. It was a thrill to work with him.”

Warwick was one of several artists who were honored with a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award at the Recording Academy’s 2020 Grammy Salute to Music Legends special, which airs Friday on PBS.  She’s also currently is in the middle of a Las Vegas residency at Cleopatra’s Barge at Caesars Palace that runs through November 1.

Here’s the full track list of Dionne Warwick & The Voices of Christmas:

“Silent Night”
“Jingle Bells” — featuring John Rich, The Oak Ridge Boys & Ricky Skaggs
“Frosty the Snowman” — featuring Eric Paslay
“God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman” — featuring Dianne Reeves
“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” — featuring Jason Scheff
“White Christmas” — featuring Johnny Mathis
“This Christmas” — featuring Aloe Blacc
“The Christmas Song” — featuring Wanya Morris
“Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer” — featuring Andra Day
“Jingle Bell Rock” — featuring Michael McDonald
“Silver Bells” — featuring Chloe x Halle
“First Noel”

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top