Local News

County distributes 4th quarter tax collection millions to town, villages and city


The Cortland County Legislature last night (January 27th) approved the distribution of sales tax dollars to the towns, villages and city.

The sales tax revenue from the 4th quarter of 2021 was in the millions and will go to the county, towns , villages and the city, with the county taking 54% ($4,690,405.35), plus $375-thousand off the top.

The 2021 4th quarter sales tax information was provided to the county by the New York State Comptroller’s Office showing a total collection for fourth quarter 2021 to be $9,060,935.83. The total amount for distribution is $8,685,935.83, after the direct deduction from the county.

The individual municipalities by resolution have opted to apply a portion of their sales tax dollars to off-set the property tax levy and that amount ($700,000.00) is to be withheld from the quarterly distribution.

Totals for disbursement:

City of Cortland – $1,541,753.60
Town of Cincinnatus – $74,190.65
Town of Cortlandville – $749,807.47
Town of Cuyler – $65,452.65
Town of Freetown – $51,033.73
Town of Harford – $81,400.18
Town of Homer – $261,374.73
Village of Homer – $185,158.57
Town of Lapeer – $106,205.66
Town of Marathon – $80,314.52
Village of Marathon – $41,238.40
Village of McGraw – $34,068.90
Town of Preble – $134,419.23
Town of Scott – $80,340.80
Town of Solon – $69,281.76
Town of Taylor – $44,568.27
Town of Truxton – $95,763.42
Town of Virgil – $235,415.40
Town of Willet – $63,742.54

On Air Now

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App


Site Designed & Hosted by Eves Digital