Local News

County Announces Mortgage Tax Distribution to City, Towns and Villages

Local News on WXHC.com is brought to you by:

Every year the county has to distribute Mortgage tax collected from April 1st to September 30th in accordance with NYS Tax Law, Article 11, § 261.

The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance did accept the plan submitted to them by the county clerk and now has been submitted with interest to the Cortland County Treasurer.

The mortgage tax has been calculated to apportion the basic mortgage tax between the towns and villages.

At Thursday night’s legislative session it was voted on with a yes to authorize the County Treasurer to make payments to each of the tax districts as shown below.

Cortland, City of : $140,709.79
Cincinnatus, Town of : $6,747.76
Cortlandville, Town of : $185,244.56
McGraw, Village of : $5,214.65
Homer, Village of : $525.39
Cuyler, Town of : $3,908.20
Freetown, Town of : $8,088.30
Harford, Town of : $14,885.49
Homer, Town of : $30,512.66
Homer Village of : $23,054.10
Lapeer, Town of : $1,453.95
Marathon, Town of : $10,226.28
Marathon, Village of : $5,558.23
Preble, Town of : $17,146.38
Scott, Town of :$10,731.57
Solon, Town of : $5,985.40
Taylor, Town of : $1,342.48
Truxton, Town of : $3,755.54
Virgil, Town of : $32,012.70
Willet, Town of : $5,873.45

TOTAL: $512,976.88

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App