Listen Live

Cortland County Voters Head to the Ballot Box

Local News

It’s election day across New York and locally voters have some contested races to decide, including who will become the next Cortland County Sheriff.

There are no state or national races this year, which is expected to keep some voters away from the polls, which make the votes cast even more important.

According to Republican Cortland County Election Commissioner Robert Howe, just a handful of votes can decide a local election.

In the only contested countywide race, there are three candidates vying to replace retiring Sheriff Lee Price. Republican Herb Barnhart, Democrat Mark Helms, and Conservative Rich Berry are all running for the job.

There are some contested races in the City of Cortland as Incumbent Democratic Mayor Brian Tobin is facing a challenge from working family candidates Myshell Titus. Republican Adam Megivern is running to replace incumbent Democrat Linda Ferguson in the 7th ward. Independent Kristen Dye is also running for the seat as well.

In the 5th ward, Republican Cliff Dutcher is facing a challenge from Democrat Bill Carpenter.

There are three contested legislative races. Incumbent Democrat Amy Cobb is facing a challenge from independent candidate Derek Reynolds. Incumbent Republican legislator Joe Steinhoff, who is facing a challenge from conservative candidate Lee Miller. Republican Chris Newell and Democrat Chad Underwood are both vying to represent the 11th Legislative District, which also covers Cortlandville. The seat is being vacated by Republican Susan Briggs.

Democrats in Preble are waging a write-in campaign after a snafu in filing petitions this year. Voters in the Towns of Truxton Taylor, LaPeer, Cincinnatus Virgil, Willet, and Cuyler also have contested Town Board Races.

There are contested Highway Superintendent races in Harford, Freetown, and Lapeer

Th polls are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

We will post the results of today’s election here on

Related Articles Is Powered By:
Powered By
Copyright 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc.

Back to Top