Local News

Cortland County Redistricting Committee Seeks Advisors


Update as of February 19th: The deadline extended to February 22nd at Midnight. Apply through the County website here

Original Story:
Census population changes in Cortland County Towns led to the County Legislature appointing a Redistricting Commission to adjust legislative district boundaries.

The Cortland County Legislature has appointed the following legislators to the Cortland County Redistricting Commission:

George Wagner, Chair
Beau Harbin, Vice-Chair
Kevin Fitch
Kelly Preston
Cathy Bischoff

Along with five politicians, the Commission met Monday morning and decided to create a Citizen’s Advisory Committee. That committee will be made up of representatives from the City of Cortland, a town, the two county Election Commissioners and five county residents.

In a press release from Cortland County, the legislature believes that community involvement is necessary in the redistricting process. For that reason, the legislature approved the creation of a Redistricting Commission Citizen’s Advisory Committee, which will consist of the following membership:

One (1) City of Cortland Elected or Appointed
One (1) Cortland County Municipal Supervisor
Two (2) Cortland County Election Commissioners
Five (5) Cortland County Residents

Anyone who wants to be part of the Advisory Committee has until February 13 to apply through the County website here.

On Air Now

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App

Site Designed & Hosted by Eves Digital