Listen Live

Baywatch star David Hasselhoff releasing new album featuring Todd Rundgren, The Cars’ Elliot Easton & more

Music News

Cleopatra RecordsBaywatch actor David Hasselhoff became a huge pop star in Europe in the late 1980s, and now “The Hoff” is set to continue his music career: He’s releasing a new album called Open Your Eyes on September 27.

The project features Hasselhoff collaborating with an improbable array of guest artists on an eclectic selection of cover tunes from the 1960s, ’70s and ’80s.

Among the musicians who appear on the album: Todd Rundgren, Cars guitarist Elliott Easton, Billy Idol guitarist Steve Stevens, A Flock of Seagulls, guitar legend Steve Cropper, veteran country star Charlie Daniels and Ministry.

Open Your Eyes‘ title track and lead single is a cover of a song by ’80s goth/New Wave band Lords of the New Church, and features guitar work by James Williamson of The Stooges.

Rundgren contributes to a version of “Jump in My Car,” which was a U.K. hit for Hasselhoff in 2006; Easton appears on a rendition of Jesus and Mary Chains‘ “Head On”; Stevens is featured on a version of Modern English‘s “I Melt with You”; A Flock of Seagulls contribute to a cover of Echo and the Bunnymen‘s “Lips Like Sugar”; Cropper lends his talents to a rendition of The Archies‘ “Sugar, Sugar” and Daniels appears on a version of Glen Campbell‘s smash “Rhinestone Cowboy.”

In perhaps the most bizarre collaboration on the record, Ministry join Hasselhoff for a rendition of Neil Diamond‘s “Sweet Caroline.”

The album wraps up with David’s take on the Frank Sinatra classic “That’s Life.”

Meanwhile, Hasselhoff announced on his Twitter feed that he’s offering fans the chance to appear in the official video for “Open Your Eyes.” He’s asking fans to upload a video to Instagram of their faces showing them opening their eyes , using the hashtag #EYESforHOFF.

Here the album’s full track list:

“Open Your Eyes” — featuring James Williamson
“Head On” — featuring Elliot Easton
“I Melt with You” — featuring Steve Stevens
“Lips Like Sugar” — featuring A Flock of Seagulls
“Heroes” — featuring Tyler Bates
“Here I Go Again” — featuring Tracii Guns
“Jump in My Car” — featuring Todd Rundgren
“Rhinestone Cowboy” — featuring Charlie Daniels
“If You Could Read My Mind” — featuring Ava Cherry
“Sugar, Sugar” — featuring Steve Cropper
“Mit 66 Jahren” — featuring Patrick Moraz*
“Sweet Caroline” — featuring Ministry
“That’s Life”

* = on CD only.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved. Is Powered By:
Powered By
© 2020. Eves Broadcasting Inc. Site By Eves Digital

Back to Top