Local News

19 Cortland County Educators Named “Master Teachers”


19 teachers from Cortland County are part of a group of 230 new New York State Master Teachers. They join a fraternity created in 2013 to recognize leaders in STEM education – Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

These teachers stand out for inspiring students and peers:

Mark Morrell – Living Environment and Chemistry
Kurt Schmidt – Earth Science, Aquatic Biology, and Environmental Science

Abbey Albright – Chair of Math Department
Carol Brafman – Regents Geometry and Calculus
Anthony Canestaro – Chemistry and Regents Physics
Karen Krichbaum-Stenger – Honors Biology and Regents Biology
Juliann Quinn – First Grade at Randall
Sylvia Tellaeche – Consultant Teacher with the Seven Valleys Writing Project
James Ulrich – Regents Earth Science and Dual Credit Astronomy

Cortland BOCES
Chad DeVoe – Environmental Science

Jamie Douglass – First grade at Homer Elementary
Kevin Douglass – Eighth grade Physical Science
Thomas George – Regents and AP Biology and Current Issues in Science
Beth Krauss – Living Environment, AP Biology and Lab Management
Robert Nasiatka – Earth Science and Physical Sciences
Nicholas Patriarco – Regents and Honors level Earth Science

Morgan Nuesell – Regents – Chemistry, Living Environment and Physics
Nicole Lener – Regents Living Environment and Modified Non-Regents Biology
Alexandra Perry – 7th and 8th grade Math and Coaches the trapshooting team

You can learn more here: https://www.suny.edu/masterteacher/cohort/




On Air Now

Now Playing On X101

Download The X101 App