Music World Gears Up For 2014 Rock Hall Induction Tonight
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Music World Gears Up For 2014 Rock Hall Induction Tonight
The 29th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held tonight (April 10th) at Brooklyn's Barclays Center. This year's inductees are Nirvana, Kiss, Peter Gabriel, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Linda Ronstadt, and Cat Stevens. Ahmet Ertegun Awards will go to the Beatles' late manager Brian Epstein and original Rolling Stones' manager/producer Andrew Loog Oldham. The Award for Musical Excellence -- formerly known as the Side-Men category -- will be presented to the E Street Band.
As is the case every year, tonight's event will feature high profile inductors such as R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe who'll do the honors for Nirvana while Rage Against The Machine's Tom Morello will induct Kiss and Coldplay's Chris Martin will induct Peter Gabriel. It is not clear whether the surviving members of Nirvana will perform -- although it is heavily rumored that Joan Jett will front the band for tonight's one off performance. Bruce Springsteen will induct the E Street Band.
Glenn Frey -- who got his major break as apart of Linda Ronstadt’s backing band -- will salute her at the ceremony. Ronstadt will not be attending the event, but "a unique tribute will be staged to the singer featuring Stevie Nicks, Carrie Underwood, Emmylou Harris, Sheryl Crow, and Bonnie Raitt." Questlove of the Roots will salute Hall & Oates. The inductor for Cat Sevens has yet to be announced, and Peter Asher, of Peter & Gordon and record production fame, will do the honors for his friends, Brian Epstein and Andrew Loog Oldham -- who also will be a no show at tonight's event.
The Los Angeles Times quoted Oldham who last month told an audience during a talk at the Berlin School of Creative Leadership: "I won't be there. I'll tell you why. . . It's a television show. 20 years ago it was an incredible party in the Waldorf-Astoria where everybody could behave exactly as they could 20 years ago. And then it became a business. I think it's healthier to stay home. I think those people basically hijacked the name 'rock n' roll,'" On Friday (April 4th), Oldham tweeted, "Like Brian Epstein I was not consulted as regards this matter & like dear Brian I will not be going."
Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons have already confirmed that Kiss as a band would not take the stage in protest of the fact that only the founding members -- and not later ones -- are being inducted. Current Kiss guitarist Tommy Thayer and drummer Eric Singer will sit at the band's table, along with former guitarist Bruce Kulick, who was in the band from 1984 to 1996. Founding members Ace Frehley and Peter Criss also will be in attendance -- with Frehley confirming to VH1's Eddie Trunk that he was invited to perform as part of the show's finale.
Steve Van Zandt explained to us that despite standing at Springsteen's side every night onstage, he's actually "The Boss'" biggest fan on Earth -- and proud to lend his voice to the E Street Band's worldwide legion of followers: "I'm always gonna be, y'know, the consigliere -- I can't help it, OK? Y'know, and when called upon, y'know, I always have an opinion, OK? And my opinion is always going to be bringing things towards what I feel the fans want. That's just me. Y'know, I'm a fan first, I guess -- a band guy second, really."
The 2014 Ceremony will again be open to the public, as it has been for the Induction Ceremonies in Cleveland in 2009 and 2012, and Los Angeles in 2013. This will be the first time that the ceremony will be open to the public in New York City.
A truncated version of tonight's ceremony will air on HBO on May 31st at 9 p.m.

Photo courtesy of
Internet Explorer Users Click Here To See What's On-Air
Contest Rules
Contact Us
Copyright 2014. Eves Broadcasting Inc.
Site Designed and Maintained by MME
Music News
Search our Music Database
'Like' Us On Facebook
Local News
On-Air Now
Listen Live With Our App