Eric Carmen Releases Career Spanning Retrospective
Monday, March 31, 2014
Eric Carmen Releases Career Spanning Retrospective
Out now is The Essential Eric Carmen. The collection, which is the first double-disc retrospective of Carmen’s nearly 45-year career, contains classic tracks from his solo years, his major works leading the legendary power pop quartet the Raspberries -- and even a cut from his pre-‘Berries band, Cyrus Erie. Along with the hits comes a newly recorded track, called "Brand New Year," featuring backing from the key members of his hero Brian Wilson’s longtime band.
Highlights on the set include the Raspberries’ early-‘70s favorites "Go All The Way," "Let’s Pretend," "I Wanna Be With You," "Tonight," and "Overnight Sensation (Hit Record)" — along with his solo hits "All By Myself," "Never Gonna Fall In Love Again," "Hey Deanie," "Hungry Eyes," and "Make Me Lose Control," among many others. Also included are 1976 solo live versions of "That’s Rock N’ Roll," "Starting Over," and a 2005 live rendition of "Ecstasy" with the 'Berries.
Eric Carmen told us that the Raspberries first hit when radio had turned its back on fun, melodic pop singles in favor of heavier, album-oriented rock: "One of the appealing things about the Raspberries that has kind of nailed these fans, is that in our music, that joy was still there. But we weren't jaded; we weren't cynical at that point. We believed that all things were possible -- and I think that somehow is in the music."
Internet Explorer Users Click Here To See What's On-Air
Contest Rules
Contact Us
Copyright 2014. Eves Broadcasting Inc.
Site Designed and Maintained by MME
Music News
Search our Music Database
'Like' Us On Facebook
Local News
On-Air Now
Listen Live With Our App